YOU DON’T LIKE SELFIE’S? WELL I DO AND HERE’S WHY

http://www.instagram.com/martinmoorejr

Urbandictionary.com’s definition of a ‘Selfie’

 “A picture taken of yourself that is planned to be uploaded to Facebook, Myspace or any other sort of social networking website. You can usually see the person’s arm holding out the camera in which case you can clearly tell that this person does not have any friends to take pictures of them so they resort to Myspace to find internet friends and post pictures of themselves, taken by themselves. A selfie is usually accompanied by a kissy face or the individual looking in a direction that is not towards the camera.

I take a lot of photo’s of myself. A lot. Probably more in one week than most people do in one month, but I’m ok with that. You see, the thing is, I’m a photographer, so part of me can’t help it; like people who swear a lot or sex addicts. I think the main reason though is that anytime I’m with friends and family or I’m traveling, I’m always the one with the camera. I’m always there taking those great shots of you at your wedding, or your 50th birthday or your trip to Las Vegas. Everyone one I know has amazing photo’s of themselves and the places they’ve traveled to and the important events in their lives, because I’m always there to take them. They know they don’t have to. It’s fine, I don’t mind, I enjoy it, but most people never stop and ask if I want my picture taken.

I get a lot of shit from people asking me why I’m always taking pictures of myself and how I really must like myself a lot. It actually hurts a lot when people think that, because all I want to do is share the great moments of my life with my friends and family just the same way that they do.

Derek Zoolander (not an actual person)

I don’t think most peoples beef with selfie’s is the fact that it’s an uncomfortably close-up shot of someones face, I think it has more to do with the fact that when people take photo’s of themselves by themselves, they all end up looking like the Zoolander calendar. Same stupid face with zero consideration to where they are or what’s in the background. Their ‘selfie’ isn’t telling a story or documenting anything other than the fact that they still have that big nose or shit eating grin.

When I take a photo of myself I like to keep ‘myself’ secondary and what’s behind me and in front of me the center of attention so that you know exactly where I am and what I’m doing, what story I’m trying to tell.

A lot of people also ask me ‘why are you always wearing sunglasses when you take photo’s of yourself?’ that’s an easy one. Because when you take a selfie and you’re looking directly into the camera it’s just fucking weird, and when you look away it looks like you’re pretending you don’t know that you’re taking a picture of yourself. I’m not sure which one looks worse, but wearing sunglasses solves both of these problems.

I personally enjoy’s the photo’s people take of themselves. They have more sole and personality. It seems the collective opinion is that most people hate Instagram photo’s of your food, or those six photo’s of your dog you just posted in a row trying to catch a frisbee; and don’t get me wrong, your new baby is cute, but it would be nice if you took a picture of something else once and a while.

Hopefully my story has given you some insight into why I shoot the kinds of photo’s I do and perhaps also given you a few tips on how to make your own photo’s more intersting.

IF YOU LIKE THIS PLEASE RECOMMEND IT AND FOLLOW ME ON MEDIUM: WWW.MEDIUM.COM/@MARTINMOOREJR. I ENJOY WRITING ABOUT TRAVEL, TECHNOLOGY AND PHOTOGRAPHY, BUT NOT IF NOBODY DOESN’T GIVE A SHIT ABOUT WHAT I’M WRITING ABOUT.

Leave a Reply

